2019-2020 tgiFHI Schedule

Monday, August 26, 2019
tgiFHI logo

Fall 2019 Schedule

Friday, September 27
Roseen Giles, Music
The Millennial Discord: Generational Tensions in Early Modern Italy

Friday, October 4
Franklin Cason, Franklin Humanities Institute
Psyche-Analysis: The Politics of Excess and the Souls of Black Film

Friday, October 11
Leela Prasad, Religious Studies
The Sovereignty of an Audacious Raconteur in Colonial India

Friday, October 18
Mark Antliff, Art, Art History & Visual Studies
Sculpture Against the State: Anarchism, Censorship and Jacob Epstein's Tomb of Oscar Wilde

Friday, October 25
Thomas F. DeFrantz, Dance
Resisting the Universal: Black Dance, Aesthetics, and the Afterlives of Slavery

Friday, November 1
Leo Ching, Asian and Middle Eastern Studies
The New Great Game: Anti-Japanism in the Era of China’s Rise

Spring 2020 Schedule

Friday, January 17
Genevieve Rousselière, Political Science
Revolutionary Republicanism
*Please note that this presentation will take place in the Social Movements Lab, B189, Bay 5, Smith Warehouse

Friday, January 24
Patrice Douglass, Gender, Sexuality & Feminist Studies
On the Question of Violence: Slavery, Sexual Subjection, and Legal Paradigms of Thought

Friday, January 31
Taylor Black, English
Everybody Plays the Fool: On Style and Stupidity

Friday, February 7
Orin Starn, Cultural Anthropology
Anthropology and the Misery of Writing

Friday, February 14
Elvira Vilches, Romance Studies
Cultures of Capitalism: Early Modern Spain

Friday, February 21
Kata Gellen, Germanic Languages & Literature
On Hubris and Imagination: Kafka, Nietzsche, and Contemporary Ecological Discourse

Friday, February 28
Beth Holmgren, Slavic & Eurasian Studies
The Stars of Cabaret Warsaw: Jews and Gentiles at Play on the Interwar Polish Stage