tgiFHI

tgiFHI is a new weekly series that gives Duke faculty in the humanities, interpretative social sciences and arts the opportunity to present on their current research to interlocutors in their fields.

All tgiFHI events are open to the public, but please note that there is no expectation that speakers will adapt their talks for a general audience.

Fall 2018 Schedule

Friday, September 28
Joseph Winters, Religious Studies
The Sacred Gone Astray: Eliade, Fanon, Wynter, and the Terror of Colonial Settlement

Friday, October 5
No tgiFHI (Fall Break)

Friday, October 12
Mark Hansen, Literature
Techno-Aesthesis and Drone Vision

Friday, October 19
Annabel J. Wharton, Art, Art History & Visual Studies
Body Model

Friday, October 26
Nima Bassiri, Literature
Catherine Reilly, Literature
Deborah Jenson, Romance Studies
Brainhood, Self-Concepts, and the Perils of Neuroconformity

Friday, November 2
Carlos Rojas, Asian and Middle Eastern Studies
James Miller, Duke Kunshan University Humanities Research Center
The DKU Humanities Research Center and the Planetary Humanities

Friday, November 9
Saskia Cornes, Duke Campus Farm and Franklin Humanities Institute
Milton's Manuring: Eden, Eve, Enclosure, Epic

Friday, November 16
Margaret Humphreys, History
Finding Dr. Harris

Spring 2019 Schedule

Friday, January 18
Bradley Rogers, Theater Studies
Rethinking the Revolutions of Hamilton

Friday, January 25
Michaeline Crichlow, African and African American Studies
Patricia Northover, Sir Arthur Lewis Institute of Social and Economic Studies (SALISES), University of the West Indies
Race, Space and Place in Hispaniola: Notes on Primitive Accumulation

Friday, February 1
Harris Solomon, Cultural Anthropology
TBD

Friday, February 8
Charlotte Sussman, English
Dido and the Black Mediterreanean

Friday, February 15
Gopal Sreenivasan, Philosophy
What is Courage?

Friday, February 22
Jacqueline Waeber, Music
TBD

Friday, March 1
Shai Ginsburg, Asian and Middle Eastern Studies
TBD

tgiFHI logo